Русский   |   English
argamak

+7 (909) 765 88 69

a.klimuk@rambler.ru

stallions
mares
in-training
youngstock

 Articles 

12.05.2011  An Opinion of One Breeder

The official site of the Selection and Breeding centre of the International Association of Akhal-Teke Horsebreeding (MAAK) ww.maakcenter.org has been displaying for a long time now an Open Letter addressed to the members of MAAK about the General Akhal-Teke Stud Book, signed by T. Riabova and N. Abramova.

Some points in this letter appeared to me to be very suspect, so much as that, until I received a confirmation, made me doubt that the letter was written by T.Riabova for whom I have a lot of respect.

The letter begins by saying that the authors believe that "there are many theories about the origin of Akhal-Teke breed" and, based on these theories, "many nations can call this breed it's national treasure: Uzbekistan, and Kazakhstan, and areas from Altay, Russia and Turkmenistan (incidentally, Turkmen became known only in 8th or 9th century, much later than Akhal-Teke horses)."

If the Letter was talking about the horses bred in Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan or Russia who had achieved impressive records at breed shows, racing or other equestrian sports, or proved themselves as valueable breeding animals, one could agree with such a statement. No argument - Absent is the pride of the Kazakh horsebreeding and the Russian equestrian school while Pentelli is the pride of the Russian horsebreeding and Ukrainian equestrian tradition. 

But the Letter is talking about the origins of the Akhal-Teke breed and asserts that the Turkmen inherited the breed after they appeared from somewhere only in the 8th or 9th centuries. Despite the mention of some remarkable academics who wrote about the history of the Akhal-Teke (such as V.O.Vitt, V.O.Lipping, S.N.Kovalevskii, P.N.Kuleshov, P.A.Iurasov, S.V.Afanas'ev, S.N. Bogoliubskii and others), one might begin to doubt whether the authors of the Open Letter T.Riabova and N.Abramova actually read the above-mentioned authors. Because if they had read these authors they would have surely known that the Turkmen people are the direct descendants of the ancient peoples of Central Asia, the Mussaget, the Alan and the Parthians who were famous throughout the ancient world for their excellent horses. And that he Oguz Turks who came to Central Asia in the 8-9th centuries are only one strain in the ethnic origins of the modern-day Turkmen people. The anthropological features of the Turkmen people and their cultural traditions, including their tradition of horsebreeding, resemble closely the traditions of the ancient peoples of Trans-Caucasus. Therefore, to say that the Turkmen people have inherited the Akhal-Teke horse from some other nation is a fallacy.

If the authors of the Open Letter are referring to the fact that the ancestors of the Akhal-Teke horse can be found beyond the territory of Turkmenistan, they must bear in mind that outside the Turkmen territory these horses were used primarily as superior riding animals and as "improvers" in local breeding. Even in those places where, according to historical accounts, these horses were bred as pure-breds (e.g. Davan', Khutal', some breeding farms belonging to Iranian Shah), they did not survive into the modern era, having disappeared into the populations of the more "common" native steppe breeds. Only in Turkmenistan has the breed been preserved to this day in its original lavish form.

The authors of the Open Letter also claim that the name Akhal-Teke was given to the breed by the Russians. It is unclear what prompts them to make such an assertion. Akhal-Teke is the name that the Teke people residing in the Akhal region gave to themselves. "Akhaltekinets" is simply the Russian form of this Turkmen word which originally referred to the people and then was transferred to the horses as well.

It is unfortunate that these dubious statements cast doubt over the rest of the content of the Open Letter and may well lead to conflict within MAAK membership. 

And one more point: to spell the word "horsebreeder" and "horsebreeding" as "konezavodchik" and "konezavodstvo" instead of "konnozavodchik" and "konnozavodstvo" is considered "bad taste" among serious professionals.

A. Klimuk, Senior Breeding Specialist at the Stavropol Horsebreeding farm

Русский   |   English
argamak

+7 (909) 765 88 69

a.klimuk@rambler.ru

stallions
mares
in-training
youngstock

 Публицистика 

12.05.2011  Мнение коннозаводчика

На официальном сайте «исполнительной дирекции и Селекционного центра Международной Ассоциации Ахалтекинского Коннозаводства (МААК) www.maakcenter.org уже довольно продолжительное время находится обращение к членам МААК по поводу Государственной Племенной Книги лошадей чистокровной ахалтекинской породы, подписанное Т. Н. Рябовой и Н. В. Абрамовой.

Некоторые моменты этого письма показались мне настолько сомнительными, что до получения дополнительных подтверждений я, честно говоря, не был уверен в авторстве уважаемой мной Т. Н. Рябовой.

Письмо начинается с того, что, по мнению авторов, «существует несколько версий происхождения ахалтекинской породы и, основываясь на них, не только Туркмены (которые, кстати, пришли на эту территорию и стали известны только в 8-9 веках нашей эры) могут называть эту породу своей национальной гордостью, но и узбеки, и казахи, и алтайцы, и русские». Далее по тексту авторы ещё раз замечают, что «текинец национальная гордость не только туркмен, но и казахов, и киргизов, и узбеков, и таджиков, и русских».

Если бы речь шла об ахалтекинских лошадях, выращенных в Узбекистане, в Казахстане, в России и добившихся значительных результатов на выставках, в скачках, в конном спорте или в племенном деле, то можно было бы согласиться с подобным утверждением. Да, Абсент является гордостью казахстанского коневодства и российского конного спорта, а Пентелли – гордость российского коневодства и украинского конного спорта.

Но в данном случае речь идёт о происхождении ахалтекинской лошади и о том, что пришлым откуда-то туркменам эта порода досталась только в 8-9 в. в. н. э. Хотя авторы обращения и упоминают выдающихся учёных, писавших об истории ахалтекинской породы (В. О. Витт, В. О. Липпинг, С. Н. Ковалевский, П. Н. Кулешов, П. А. Юрасов, С. В. Афанасьев, С. Н. Боголюбский и др.), то, судя по их высказываниям, может закрасться сомнение, а читали ли труды этих авторов Т. Н. Рябова и Н. В. Абрамова? Потому что, если бы они их читали, то наверняка знали бы, что туркменский народ является прямым потомком древнего среднеазиатского населения, массагетов, алан и парфян, славных своими прекрасными, лучшими в мире, лошадьми. А пришедшие в Среднюю Азию тюрки-огузы это лишь часть этногенеза туркменского народа. По своему антропоморфологическому облику и культурным традициям, в том числе коневодческим, туркмены в наибольшей степени сохранили особенности древнего населения Закаспия. Поэтому писать о том, что туркменам эта порода досталась от кого-то, совершенно неправильно.

Если авторы обращения имели в виду, что следы пребывания предков ахалтекинцев встречаются не только в Туркмении, но и на территории других стран и народов, то не следовало бы забывать, что за пределами Туркмении эта порода использовалась в первую очередь как верховой конь, а в племенной работе – как улучшатель. Даже там, где есть свидетельства долгого разведения таких коней в чистоте (Давань, Хуталь, шахские заводы в Иране), до нас эти лошади не дошли, растворившись в массе более простых пород, в основном степного происхождения. Лишь в Туркмении, на своей родине, эта порода сохранилась в своём первобытном блеске и дошла до наших дней.

Авторы обращения пишут также о том, что название породе дали русские. На чём основано такое утверждение – совершенно непонятно. Ведь «Ахал-Теке» - это самоназвание жившего в оазисе «Ахал» туркменского племени «Теке». «Ахалтекинец» - это просто русская форма этого туркменского слова, обозначавшего сначала человека, а затем перенесённое и на породу лошадей.

К сожалению, эти досадные сомнительные высказывания сводят на нет остальную часть обращения, и вполне могут обострить взаимоотношения внутри МААК.

И ещё. Писать «конезаводство» и «конезаводчик» вместо «коннозаводство и коннозаводчик» у действительно профессиональных конников считается дурным тоном.

А. С. Климук,
Главный зоотехник по коннозаводству
Ставропольского конного завода.